top of page

The Pursuit of Living Tiny: Almost to Production!


About a year ago, I came home from my trip to Kenya + Rwanda, where I lived, worked, served, learned, and played for two months. While I was interested in tiny homes before my departure, being in east Africa only solidified my desire to pursue a tiny life and live with less. When I returned home, I had a couple weeks before school began again and I dedicated that time to learning about tiny living and construction. I was initially overwhelmed, but with the teeny bits of encouragement from my parents ,that eventually grew into a lot of excitement, I had a strong feeling that starting on the tiny life was a good decision for me.

Throughout the past year, I have done countless hours of research, many days of searching for design inspiration on pinterest ( the best part ;) ), some construction, lots of planning, and much dreaming.

A few weeks ago, I paid my rent for the last time and simultaneously put down the deposit on my tiny home trailer. What a surreal moment!! Since then, I have graduated from Western Washington University, took a job as a campaign manager for an awesome City Council Candidate, celebrated with friends, and now I am in the middle of packing up my life in Bellingham and moving back to Olympia, WA. Why Olympia? Well, I will be working in Olympia as well as building the tiny home (on wheels) out at my parents property on Summit Lake, just west of Olympia. This gives me awesome access to help from my gracious parents and willing friends.

But wait, when are you actually building it?? Thats a question I get a lot. A LOT. And every time I answer that question, I get even more excited. From what used to be "next year" to " Well, about 9 months." to now the reply "only 2 months from now!". It is becoming very real!

So whats next? I get to pick up my trailer in the end of April before I leave for Nepal, and I am targeting to start building in the beginning on June! Currently, I am about to put in an order for windows, figuring out where to purchase my lumber package for the frame and exterior, working on planning work parties, mapping out electrical stuff, picking out flooring, and still grooming Pinterest for design inspo. ha! I am so, so pumped.

This time is filled with a lot of anticipation but also a lot of fear and anxiety as I am stepping out into a new project, a new "chapter", and a new, yet not so new, town. I know there will be a time where I think to myself while I sip my cheep Rainier brew "holy balls just get this over with". So I am embracing the anticipation and excitement because it may be short lived. I get it- building will be challenging, it will be tiring, and it will be a shit ton of work for someone who is learning all of this as they go. Phew, I am tired just writing that. However, I know the reward is high and I have frequent dreams about my tiny home and my garden, living in a ski town or at the base of a hill and skiing and hiking and enjoying a simple life full of adventure and joy.

If you are interested in helping out, providing insight, sharing your talents, etc., please let me know!! I would love to have you out to help with construction, waiting a wall, installing flooring, telling me jokes, the list goes on! The more the merrier. Many hands make light work. Teamwork makes the dream work! You get it :)

I will be updating this blog as I go and I would be thrilled if you followed along! Have questions? Ask away.

Ttyl.

Past blogs:


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page