top of page

The Pursuit of Living Tiny: An Update

Hi people!

Last time I wrote about the Tiny Home was about 8 months ago, and boy oh boy has time flow by! Many hours of planning and re planning and designing and strategizing and phewww and conversations and budgeting and.... A LOT, needless to say. Other than my education, I do not think I have thought so much about a task. Even then, that's debatable. Thankfully, the thinking is definitely not limited to just me, myself, and I. Most of the thinking comes in the form of conversations with curious folks, whether that is my father who is quite involved in the tiny home process, or some acquaintance who heard I was embarking on this project. It has been both rewarding and overwhelming discussing the tiny home build, particularly when people have very strong feelings about it- especially not the disapproving kind. Always a fun thing to politely argue with someone who thinks your ideas for your own life are dumb. Excuse me sir, you're not the one building a tiny home by yourself, SO BACK OFF.

If I were to be very candid, I would tell you I have had some doubts about the tiny home… Who wouldn’t? Building a micro home is weird, really. It’s more difficult than anticipated. Many days of sitting in class, thinking about graduation right around the corner, and this massive project that will soon fill my life. Doubting my abilities and questioning my sensibilities. Will anyone (potential suitors) like me if i have a tiny home? Can I actually build this thing? Do I even know how to use a drill? But the doubts have been followed by victories, such as building shelving contraptions and drawing out plans, to watching building tutorials on youtube and spending copious amounts of time in Home depot.

My doubts have also been combated by some of the most incredible people in my life. It is inspiring and so rewarding to have parents who believe in you and want to see your dreams come to fruition. Even though most of my "dreams" scare my mother, having my parents on my side is an amazing feeling. They have always taught me to dream big and work harder. I think they are equally as surprised that I am actually going through with this. My step dad will be helping me with the exterior build and everything in between. My dad will be the interior go-to-guy as well as helping with the exteriors. My mom? Well, that has yet to be determined. Hoping she can be there for a hug when I am in tears due to the stress or accidently hitting my finger with my hammer. I am so grateful for my team!

So far, my dad and I have built some shelving units and a couch. A couch!!!!!!!! Who knew that I could beuild a COUCH? I didnt. He walked me through each step and I drilled those damn holes well and cut that wood like a champ. Learning this new process is difficult but thrilling.

The "couch" will span the width of the tiny home and will be a storage area for all my outdoor gear! It will be covered with comfy pillows and is big enough to sleep on. Now accepting guests!

Next up?? Well, we are building cabinets and working on the stair storage area. I am buying a trailer in the New Year which is scary but exciting. I will pick it up in March and begin the exterior building when the weather begins to be more stable in May! Want to swing a hammer with me? Let me know!! I would love to have friends and family come and help me :)


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page