top of page

Shred + See // On a Budget

looking for deal$$$

Things I love to do: Ski, eat, travel.

Things that require $$$: Skiing, eating, traveling.

Ski season is in full swing and my pockets are beginning to run dry due to the inherit cost of skiing and traveling. I am asked often: how do you afford to do it so often? As the season progresses, I have continued to ponder this question. Because I get it, y'all. Mountain sports and traveling can be EXPENSIVE. The price of gear, the lift tickets, food, transportation, accommodations, etc etc etccccc. I ain't made of money but I am also reluctant to give up my favorite hobby... What a girl to do? Ball on a budget. That's what.

If I were to be quite honest: skiing is one of the most privileged sports out there (other than maybe golfing and horse showing? is that correct verbiage? doubt it.) Let me paint a picture: Wealthier families flock to the mountains with their new slick gear, shiny 4wd Volvos, and $58(lowest price in WA)-$145 in tow for a lift ticket that permits them to explore the snow laden hills at the resort. If they are lucky, maybe they even have a special cabin as the base of the mountain.

The assumption above is not the story of every person and every family- this is simply my observation as someone whose family could only afford to ski a few times a year because of the high price of skiing. In fact, the only reason we learned to ski in the first place is because my home mountain, White Pass, let kids under 10 ski for free. We had gear from Goodwill and between my 4 siblings, we handed down gear as we grew bigger. We were the family that opted out of the pricey food at the lodge and ate turkey sandwiches out of paper bags. We drove up our old Ford Aerostar van that could hardly make it up the pass sometimes. As soon as we grew out of our gear, we had to buy new stuff with our own very minimal allowance. I remember picking out my first BRAND NEW pair of skis when I was 14. I went to the Alpine Experience (where I eventually got a job in high school, to fund my hobby) and gazed at the pink + purple Armada twin tips. They spoke to me. They said " Shelby, you will clean your mothers car and vacuum the living room and wash toilets, and babysit, and mow lawns, if you must" So I obliged and bought the skis. I took out a line of credit with my sweet mama and completed an excess of neighborhood chores to pay for the shiny new sticks. When I was 17 I was hired at The Alpine Experience in Olympia, WA. One of the many perks of the job was discounted gear and discounted lift tickets. I could now ski for $30 a day at White Pass (instead of $58) and was able to spend my minimal paychecks on a new coat instead of donning my brothers baggy jacket. I never played any organized sports and skiing was one thing I actually felt *semi *good at. When it comes down to it, I had to work to achieve this hobby and I still do! I made it a priority.

Throughout the years, I have gone back and forth with how often I get to ski. As for many many people, it depends mostly on the funds to do it. I am so so sososo lucky to ski as much as I do and SHOUT OUT to my step dad for teaching me how to do it when I was 8.

I chose to put together a short list on ways you can save yo dolla$ on the hill. If you are equally as reluctant to give up your hobby due to a virtually empty bank account and a desire to hit the slopes, here's some tested tips for you!! Take it or leave it.

GEAR

Buy used / cheap gear

Some of my favorite avenues for cheap gear:

-REI garage sale. You do have to pay a one time membership fee of $20, but that gives you 10% off purchases and also permits you to the garage sale, which is held at least 4 times a year (sometimes more!!). Get there early and stand in line for an extra 15 minutes. I have bought gear for 75-85% off before!! THAT IS HUGE.

-Local Ski Swaps. Most cities that are near a mountain have ski swaps or consignment sales for ski gear. Check it out! amazing deals on used gear.

-Buy Rentals. Every few years, rental shops will sell off their skis and boots to purchase new stuff. Typically, this gear is still in great condition and can be purchased for fairly cheap! Ask your local rental shop when they plan on selling their stuff.

-Thrift Shops: UMMM Goodwill can hook it upppp.

-Borrow from friends and then throw some bill$ their way!

my bro and I skiing in our backyard during a local snowstorm lolol

LIFT TICKETS

Give up $1 a day

If you were to save $1 a day for the whole year, you could ski 6 times during the season at White Pass. That is roughly once a month per season, depending on the length of the season!

Play hooky, make a midweek trip.

If you can afford to take a day off, or if you work weekends.....

Most resorts give a discount for skiing Monday-Friday. Better yet?

Weekdays = less people.

Less people = fewer lines.

Fewer lines = MORE SKIING.

More skiing = more return on investment.

Are you picking up what I am laying down?

Black Friday

Yep. This exists!!! Stevens Pass offers black Friday deals. Instead of $75 per ticket, you can get tickets for $54 if you think ahead. Every penny counts!!!

Skip the ticket and ski the backcountry

Learn how to backcountry ski and never pay for a lift ticket again. You get a killer workout AND you save some dough. While the investment is initially really high (backcountry setups are spendy) you can save a lot of $$$ on not buying a pass and instead skiing untouched terrain. this is obviously only recomended for experienced skier and boarders.

Night Skiing

Opt for night skiing and save up to 50% off!! Limited runs, but when you're saving that much money, it is worth it!!!! Plus, skiing under the stars is verrry dreamy. Stevens Pass and White Pass has some great night skiing.

Season Passes!!!!!

If you know that you will be making the trip to the mountain more than 8ish times, a season pass can be a money saver. I have some buddies who make the commitment to ski every weekend and purchasing a pass can save them some serious money. This is an expensive way to save money at first, but it is worth it in the end if you know you will go to the mountain a lot. Buy your pass in the spring and get it for even cheaper!!! It always pays to buy in advance, if you have the funds budgeted.

SPEAKING OF PASSES.

Let me introduce you to the Mountain Collective Pass. A.K.A. The deal machine. I'll preface this rave with : you have to have the time and dedication to make it worth it. You also should befriend a flight attendant (more on that below) and have a semi decent car that can make it over passes.

Okay, What is the M.C.P.? A pass that gets you 29 days of skiing at 14 different locations across the world. The collective pass includes amazing resorts like Whistler (normally $103 a day), Aspen Snowmass (norm $145 per day), Jackson Hole (norm $135 per day), Alta / Snowbird (norm $96 per day)... and the list goes on. When I purchased my collective pass, I spent $380 on it after taxes and fees and all that stuff. Seems spendy, right? I'll show you that it will actually save you some $$$$$! Let's do some calculations, shall we?

2 days at Jackson Hole: $135 x 2 = $270

1 Day at Alta: $96

1 day at Whistler: $103

=$469

(what I have used so far)

____________

2 days at Sun Valley: $100 x 2 = $200

2 days at Whistler: $103 x 2 = $206

=$406

(What I plan to do the rest of the season)

$469 + $406 = $875!

$875 - $380 = $495 <--- that is how much my pass will save me! Tight.

While I understand you spend more money traveling to these places to ski, instead of driving a couple hours to ski at your local hill, there are still ways to save. Ways I have made these trips incredibly cheap: stay with friends, stay in hostels, drive through the night, befriend flight attendants and use their buddy passes (looking at you, Cannon Milligan), etc etc. This is still a very pricey way to ski, but overall, I have been THRILLED with all the benefits that come with the Mountain Collective Pass. Instead of taking a big trip in 2016 (besides studying in Kenya) I told myself I would use that money to ski new terrain in new states. I have driven 3,000+ miles so far to make it worth it. Slept on a lot of couches. Ate gas station dinners. We're making it work.

MISCELLANEOUS

Pack your lunch

The price of resort food can be astronomical. It can also be fairly mediocre. Continue to skip the lines and pack your own lunch! Many places have areas to store your "brown bags" and have microwaves to heat up your goods. Skip the $14 burger and treat yourself to a hot chocolate instead. OR, pay $0 for hot water and bring your own hot chocolate or tea bags...... :)

This past trip to Whistler, Hailey and I ate hella good for cheap. We packed chicken tahini wraps, apples and pb, veggies and hummus, granola bars, skittles (our fav), etc. If we were buying all of that at the resort we would be looking at $25-30 a piece... damn! We did split a hot chocolate for $2.50

A weekend job

Many resorts are busiest on weekends. Apply for a weekend job at the mountain and ski on your breaks. Most places are chill enough to give "ski breaks" to employees!!! AND they typically give you a free season pass for being an employee. If you are a barista, perfect. Like to teach? Consider instructing lessons. Like being in the cold? Be a lifty and help operate the lifts and chat with eager skier and boarders.

Ski bus

A lot of people say to me " bu I don't have a car to get up there and I can't afford to buy a new car" Dude. I get you. I had a '94 honda accord for the last 6 years. It wasn't that fantastic in the snow. But, there are shuttle programs for many mountains! Mount Baker has the infamous Baker Bus- a decorated school bus- that ships riders up to Baker every day. Fairly cheap and super relaxed. Kick back and feel high class as someone drives you up the pass.

Befriend an airline worker.

My best friends husband (who happens to also be one of my best pals) works for Alaska Airlines and has been extremely generous in letting me fly for very very veryyyy cheap. I am so thankful for him! Of course, I only use the benefits when I am traveling with them. But, it works out perfectly considering they are my main ski buds.. and also have the Mountain Collective Pass.... So.... YAY! I am very blessed with that amenity and had to give a shoutout to Cannon for the hookups.

homemade lunch with a spectacular view of Whistler

ACCOMODATIONS

Friends

Your best resource. I am lucky to have pals in Colorado, Idaho, Wyoming and Utah. I am an anomaly and I am quite grateful for all the couches to sleep on.

Hostels

Hailey and I just stayed in a bomb hostel in Squamish, BC after we skied at Whistler. We could have made the 3 hour drive back home to bham, but opted to stay in a modest yet awesome accommodation outside Whistler (which is hellllluuh pricey to stay in) and then explore the little city the next morning before driving home.

Yes, there are ways to save $$$ while pursuing a very expensive hobby. But regardless, skiing is still a sport that requires a lot of time, energy, and money. I admire the people who are committed to finding ways to do what they love while on a budget!! My fingers are always crossed that I get to ski more this year than the last. However, I continue to recognize what a privilege it is to spend my days off in the mountains. I am oh so lucky. I hope you gained at least .07 oz of insight. by reading this.

Cheers.

high five for finding some deals


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page