top of page

Alaska // Summer 2015


As a wedding photographer, I have the joy and sorrow of working weekends. Pretty much every weekend, May - October. Often, two weddings a weekend, which amount to nearly 25-30 hours of work/travel in two days. Ouch. It ain't always fun, but it does pay the bills and hey it certainly has its perks!

Like, when I booked a Thursday wedding in Bellingham, and gave myself a day on each end to travel up there and hang with friends I have missed so dearly since moving back down to Olympia for the summer. But see, this wedding got called off… So what is one to do with three free days off? Uhh go to ALASKA DUH. I was on top of my editing schedule for the week, and well, Google Flights is my browser home screen so I booked a ticket to the cheapest place (besides vegas and portland) and flew to Alaska a few days later.

One thing everyone knows about Alaska: bears. Yeah yeah yeah I love bears. They are great for the ecosystem and for other things and blah blah. But look, when a person wants to solo back pack and hike in Alaska, they become an annoyance. It was my plan to do this all three days, but I was quickly advised (rightfully so) to not go off on a trail alone without a gun. Me and guns? Nope.

My 2 and a half day trip started with renting the most expensive rental car in history (Alaska loves their random taxes I guess) and booking it down the Seward highway to the coastal town of Whittier, where I would stay for a hot sec, and then turn around and head back up. Well, I didn’t make it to Whittier due to transportation issues but I spent time at Alyeska Resort. I get that “resort” and “adventure” don’t mix, but hear me out, y’all. The views from the top of the Alyeska tram are AMAZING. You can look out onto the inlets, see mountains for miles, and hike around at the top. Which is exactly what I did… In my Birkenstocks, because I am an idiot and forgot to put on other shoes. Oops!

Before I even arrived at Alyeska, I was certain I would return again in the winter. Growing up watching Warren Miller and numerous Ski films, the Chugach Mountain Range was all too familiar. Not saying I would be able to make it down one of those mountains on my skis, but I am up for the challenge.

The following day, I departed from Anchorage. I then headed north through teeny tiny towns, including Wasilla, Sarah Palins hometown…I am not her biggest fan. May or may not have flipped Wasilla off? This is me repenting? Maybe?

I spent time driving through Denali State Park and a bit into Denali National Park and the clouds keep opening up with little tiny glimpses of Mount Mckinley (Denali) and the Alaska Range. I was stoked beyond belief when it was sunny on my trip. Denali can be quite elusive, and I was not positive I would be able to see her majesty. But Alas, as I was driving into the tinny mountain town, Talkeetna, Denali was out to play and showing off! In that moment, driving over a hill and seeing Denali before me, I was the happiest I had been in a long time. My happiness come from so many thing: ice cream, friends, naps, good stationary, and mountains. Being in front of the tallest peak in North America was humbling and amazing. I felt like a tiny tiny ant.

While in Talkeetna, I had the amazing opportunity to fly above the phenomenal and gigantic Alaska Mountain Range on my last day in town. The service I went through had to cancel the flight I was supposed to take, so they rescheduled and upgraded me to a super epic flight that flew around the entirety of the range. Yeah, duhh I was STOKED about that.

After my flight, I explored the minuscule town of Talkeetna and chatted with locals, which made me never want to leave. Seriously, I will come back. Maybe for a summer?? I had the best cinnamon roll of my liiiiife as well as the tastiest fish and chips. Two very important things I need in my diet. Talkeetna can obviously deliver and my belly was very content.

The two hour drive back to Anchorage was relaxed as my flight left at midnight and I had plenty of time to make my way back and make the final decision on whether I would quit life and just stay in Alaska… it almost happened. Almost.

Two and a half days was simply not enough. Alaska is crazy huge- and I want to get back as soon as possible to explore more of the vastness. But until then, I will remain thankful for the quick opportunities that I get to explore! I am so lucky to jump on planes and see the world


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page