top of page

WELCOME

Life is fleeting.

At times, a year feels like a month and a month a day.

This fast paced world that I live in is moving faster than I can run- and you better bet your bottom dollar I am trying to catch up to the madness. After All, I do have massive FOMO. (Read: fear of missing out)

This next year of life will hold a multitude of moments that I don't want to escape my memory. The simple quiet moments in a coffee shop and the explorations to Asia, Africa, and beyond. This time in my life is filled with expectancy and urgency and the strongest desire to live out dreams and chase the places that make my heart light up. One of my favorite teachers and authors, Kelli Samson, always reminds me to "say yes to the good things", and I will be doing that, too.

What will Kenya be like? (Side note: Kenya was autocorrected to Kanye, so theres that)

Will I fall in love? With a person instead of ice cream?

Let's hope I graduate?

Who will be standing by my side through it all?

Where will my feet explore?

Was I loving enough?

Will I still struggle with annoying medical issues?

Where will I work? Will I still be able to take almost daily naps?

It is my daily prayer that in the next year I see new sights, love harder, practice patience, and keep saying yes.

And while all of this could be done away from the limelight, I want to do it right here.

As a creative who strives to document life, I am challenging myself to turn the lens on myself and put a pen in my hand as I chronicle the fleeting life that I attempt to live so eagerly and willingly. This little website, this little blog, this little miniscule piece of the universe that gets to be my pen and paper and fresh slate as I go forth into the world and share all that goodness with you.

So, lets this be my official WELCOME to all y’all (or none of y’all) who may follow along on my journey.

Here, you will find a few different things:

Record // Sometimes I write notes on my phone and sometimes they become long and my fingers get tired so then I pull out my computer and sometimes I write more. That is what a blog post is. Simple thoughts, shared. But, you should know that sometimes these thoughts are lame and cliche, and i'm most definitely not a professional writer. So let me apologize in advance for my horrible grammar and run on sentences.

I will also serving / studying in Kenya, beginning in January, and will frequently be sharing about my time there, as well as other places that I travel.

Capture // Images can be found under the “Capture” section. While I spend 97% of my time shooting photos professionally, I also shoot photos for fun. Surprise! And while I can share “fun photos” on my professional website, it ain't the same. One of things I love most about photographing is that there are stories, emotion, and honest captions behind photos. So let this be a place where I can honestly share.

Go // The “Go” section of this website is a small section where I can share future trips with followers. And by followers, I mean my mom and my bestie. I get asked “where to next?” quite often, so for the people who have asked, check there!

About // I believe life is most precious when shared, and I sincrely hope you enjoy seeing a candid glimpse into my messy and very blessed life. Head on over to the "About" section if you want to learn a little more about me, or you want to tell me something/chat.

So, hey you. If you have made it this far, thank you for taking the time out of your fast and fleeting life to see into mine.

Xxo,

Shelby

In the most beautiful words of John Muir

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark."

(Saw M83 at Bumpershoot in 2012 and their performance made me tear up. Sooo good.)


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page