top of page

India // Zoo Tales


I really despise zoos, and it is very rare you will see me supporting them. Don't get me wrong, some zoos are fantastic, and care for animals who can not survive in the wild due to illness or injuries. However, Zoos make me feel quite uncomfortable. The fact that these wild animals are caged up in small bare stalls makes me cringe. The animal activist in me wants to release all of the animals and take them to their natural homes- where they belong! Anyways… I decided to got to the Delhi Zoological Park today. I wanted to see the native animals and learn about them while in here in India.

A big mistake on my part!

This place was deserted. I swear I was the only one walking around. Half the cages were empty- it was like a ghost town. It was extremely creepy. I walked the whole zoo in 30 minutes and quickly found that the flashy website I read through was nothing like what the zoo displayed.. I walked to the elephants and saw that one was chained up. Not right! The highlight of this quick escapade was seeing the little pre-school aged kids (who reminded me of minions) drive by and all simultaneously wave to the animals and repeat "Hello Mr Elephant!" "Hello tiger!" It was the cutest thing. Cuter than any of the poor animals.

Well shoot, that was a waste of 200 rupees…

SO what do women do when they are frustrated? They go shopping, duh.

I headed off to the Dilli Haat market and bought a good share of pillow cases and forks. Random, huh? As I was about to sit down for lunch, the skies darkened and rain poured down. Thunder clapped loudly above me, and lightening struck only miles away. Rain droplets fell through the small roof I was sitting under while I quickly ate my Momos. In India, the rains get worse by the minute. Inches can be accumulated in moments, so you have to act fast. I ran to a station and asked for a few plastic bags. 1 to wrap my cloth purse in, 1 to wrap my cloth shopping bag in, and one to wrap my head it (note to self, that wont keep the water off your hair)

In less than 2 minutes I was completely drenched. white shirt + rain + indian men staring at you = HORRIBLE IDEA. I caught a rickshaw which inevitably broke down and I had to tread through knee high water back to the house. So unsuccessful but I laughed to myself as I realized this has possibly been the coldest I have been in the last two weeks. I selfishly hope that it is raining when I return back to WA so I can lay in my yard and soak in the cool temperature. I drag my sopping self home and ring out my clothes. I had to wait a few hours to leave for the hotel, for when it rains, the water simply does not drain! It remains on the roadways for hours on end. So frustrating. Another lesson in patience.

I sit in the empty apartment and stare at the lavender ceiling. 2 more short days. The clock hits 5 o'clock, and I decide to try leaving. Success- kind of. I had to pay the driver double the amount, but the hope for a cold room and hot shower did not sway me away from the high price. After checking into the hotel I decided to treat myself to a facial. Which I also hate admitting. I have never really been one to pamper myself. I can count on one hand how many times I have had my nails done, and I only go to get my hair cut about twice a year, I just find that it is a bit of a waste of time and money. The mix of horrible pollution, constant sweat, and intense heat has made my face quite disgusting.. After 45 minutes of having goo rubbed on and off my face, I went to the doughnut shop. If you know my weakness, it is doughnuts. Want me to instantly like you? Buy me a doughnut. One of my first dates with a past boyfriend was to a doughnut shop- and I knew he was a good match for me from then on.

After chowing down on the doughnuts I headed to my comfy room, plugged in my lap top, turned on some music, and began writing. One of the most comforting things when I am in the mood to list my thoughts. Not having Annie around has been very interesting, because I have no one to share my observations with! I have to deal with every emotion, thought, observance, just between myself and God, Which is healthy, but I am not used to it here in India. The rain started up again and the power flickered. After resting in my king size bed I decided this was a sign I should close my eyes and drift to sleep. I feel so alone, yet I am constantly surrounded by the sounds of honking. Normally this would frustrate me ,but it is a peaceful tonight. I get up and stare down at the moving city off my balcony. There is something odd about sitting onto of a mountain peak, a rooftop, a balcony, in all of your sadness and confusion, and gazing down at peoples lives moving before my life. Cars buzzing by strangers, people milling about, dogs marking and people simply living. While looking upon the street in front of me, I felt calm as I watched the world function around me. I had no power over anyone, even though I felt a bit like God watching down on his people. I just had observation. I realized that I am not the only one that thinks they are going about their life alone, Currently or all the time. Everyone is on a different and unique path. Usually people only pay attention to those right next to them. Their closest friends, or the people they live with. How luck am I to be looking down on the people of India and watching their lives pass by? I am so so lucky to be seeing the world and exploring cultures.

If you ever have a chance to travel whether it be to Oklahoma or Russia I urge you to DO IT. see the world, embrace the people, take chances, and learn about yourself in the midst of it all.

You wont regret it, I promise.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page