top of page

India // Sickness Stories

….Annie Ma'am gets sick

We have both been feeling a bit under the weather. Literally. I was sick the first few days of being in India. What a discouraging way to start a trip, eh? After watching what I ate and drank very closely I improved. Nothing major, thankfully! However, Annie has been feeling ill for the past week, and today it became serious.

We took the morning off and rested our minds and legs in our dark and quiet bedroom. Oh man, resting sure does feel lovely. But skipping out on class sure does make me feel guilty- especially since we only have 3 days left. After our rejuvenation we trekked to the second session and the only student sitting on the red mat was Chintu. He smiled up at me and said "photo, ma'am?" I pulled out my camera and laid the strap over his head. Once again- I am filled with joy to be sharing these experience with him.

Today I taught him how to change the aperture, adjust lighting, and change the white balance. God knows if he will remember it, but I absolutely loved seeing his mind work as he fiddled with the knobs and small buttons.

After "class" aka a small photoshoot, Annie and I left for our favorite cultural market- Dilli Haat. We collected pillow cases, bracelets, stone mugs, scarves, stationary and many other goodies for people back in the US, as well as a beautiful large elephant pillow. When I glance over these beautiful creations, I think about how great my apartment could potentially look with the colorful hues decorating every corner. However, I am admittedly a poor college student with a small suitcase, which lacks room for loads of treasures. We ate one of my favorite places- MOMO Mia. A cute little north eastern indian restaurant who serves moms: little fried vegetable dumplings that taste like little egg rolls. Yummmoo; and I am even more thrilled that they do not have any trace of curry which is a rarity here in India..

"Siri fort road, near SADIQ NADAR, 50 rupees?"

"No no nooo, 80 rupees"

"No sir, way too mu-"

"we'll take it, lets go!"

What the heck. Annie, the bargaining queen, just let the rickshaw driver rip us off? Something must be up. Upon our arrival home, Annie rushed to the bathroom. In that moment, I knew something was seriously wrong. She couldn't keep any food down the whole day. We assumed it was because of the weird spicy toast we had in the morning, but now something was seriously wrong.

I'll let her tell you the rest.

Texts were exchanged with her mama and she asked me if I wanted to go home early with her. I was torn into two. Spend 2 more days with the precious children we have been teaching, explore the city some more, soak up the final moments in this crazy place, stay in the air conditioned hotel we booked the night before. Choices Choices. Or, I could travel back with her and take care of her sick self. I could come back to America. Where everything is familiar and easy. But America can wait. I chose to stay the extra four days and challenge myself to battle the tough act of exploring Delhi with out my trusty travel buddy..


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page