top of page

India // I will never complain of rain again

Tuesday

……I will never complain about rain again.

Correct me if I am wrong, but us Washingtonians are pretty accustomed to constant rain, right? I thought so too. Until I arrived in India during monsoon season.

Annie and I cheerfully walked home to make our lunch during our hour lunch break, and while I was sautéing veggies (YAY FOR FINALLY COOKING MY OWN FOOD!) I heard the pitter patter of rain drops hitting the walls. It soon increased in speed and I sighed. Darn, another monsoon. But not to worry, it should only last about 15 minutes then we will enjoy a "dry" but very humid walk back to work. I was wrong. The rain poured on so Annie made the executive decision to get a rickshaw to take us to work. A semi covered ride- awesome! Until it broke down and kicked us out- fabulous… We glanced at each other, already drenched from walls of water which were sprayed on us by passing cars, and said "well, we are already wet." We hoped out (semi-cheerfully) and began trudging through the muddy water. In just 30 minutes the water had accumulated to near a foot deep in places… We laughed as we witnessed people taking showers and dumping buckets of cloudy water on their heads. There comes a point in our walk where we have to either wade through 12+ inches of dirty water, or climb over a 3 foot tall pile of dirt, bricks, sticks, and the like. I pick the water route, Annie chooses to climb the dirt. Little did we know… when dirt gets wet, it becomes mud. When you step into mud, you sink! As Annie s leg was engulfed by the nasty mud I couldn't help but giggle at our current situation. In the midst of our chaos and frustration, joy poured through us as we carefully embraced this special moment. I snapped a picture, Annie retrieved her shoe and we were continued on.

Most of the students don't come to school when it rains, because they have to make the walk. Chintu was the only brave soul to bear the rain and make it to class. What a trooper! The other women in the center outwardly made fun of our wet clothes (at least I brought a rain jacket to cover my top) What are we supposed to do about it?! We are here, trying to teach the students, but we could not go one moment with out someone glaring at us.. Very uncomfortable, we were being judged for looking unpresentable. If I haunt felt self conscious about my sweaty appearance already, this isn't helping! Annie and I decided to give Chintu a lesson regardless of the stares, and then we left a bit early. We chose to cancel the plans to go to Akshradam's Temple and take a night off at home, blogging and chatting with our new friend Chloe. We tried to order a pizza- typical american move. The pizza never came so we sucked up our sorrow of not devouring the greasy thing, and went to sleep. I can guarantee at least one of us dreamt of pizza.

Speaking of dreams, our Malaria pills make us have super intense dreams. Have any of you experienced that before? I am not complaining really, for I am addicted to vivid dreams! Our nights have certainly become more restful as we have been in a more steady routine, and finally recovered from jet lag. Just as we get into the comfort of India, we have to leave. Ugh, sadly counting down the days, but continuing to count my blessings!

Hope you all have a wonderful day- take time to appreciate the beautiful things around you, including the "light" summer rain.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page