top of page

India // the last day

I can not believe that today marks my very last day in India. Even as I attempted to grasp every invaluable moment, this trip as flown by in front of my eyes. Oh, what I would do to spend a summer here.

I am so privileged to be waking up in a chilly room with a breakfast buffet just down the hall from where I am sleeping. I am stretched out in a plush king sized bed with silk sheets and a down comforter laying on top of me. Livin' the good life, that's for sure.

I solemnly took a rickshaw to the market by our apartment to buy some lunch to fill my belly, to purchase some clean pants for the trip home, and to spend the rest of my rupees before I left for home. On my venture back to the apartment, I felt sad and overcome but helplessness as I passed a slum and by little kids playing in the dirt and trash piles that haunt the roads. These feelings will never change. Even though my heart breaks for them, they don't know better. The only joyful thing I see when kids play in mud and rocks is their cheerful expression. Making the best out of their situation… Something we should all admire.

I often pass a clan of street kids at the busy intersection by our residence. Most of the time I am riding in a rickshaw, so our interaction is quite short. However it consists of two things: them bringing their fragile fingers to their lips and motioning towards their belly. Then I supply them with a banana or an orange and they 'namaste' to me and run back to their little hut.

When I passed them on foot today all 4 of them bolted towards me. They spotted their white friend! The 4 little faces all begged for food, but I didn't have anything. If I gave them rupees, they would have to give them to their parents (who are making them beg) and I didn't want to do that. They were tugging on my pants- so persistent. I shook my head and replied "no food today, sorry!!"

I often carry little candies in my bag as well, to hand to the children, but I was out of that as well. They were clinging to my legs and it felt like they were also clinging to hope. The hope that I would provide them with a snack or their meal for the day.

Brain blast! I may not have food, but I do have water. I pulled out my trusty Hammer Nutrition Bottle that I always tote around, and instructed them to get in a line, tip their little heads back, and open their mouths. After squirting decent doses of H20 in the tiny mouths, they pointed to their lips and begged for more.

When their thirst was quenched they squeezed me with love, and ran back to the street with their hands waving in the air towards me.

I started with a full bottle and ended with just a few drops lingering in my red vessel. But not to worry, it will be replenished in moments. Just like how I started my trip- With a full tank of love to drench the people of India with, but at the end it was a tad bit bare, but I always found the extra bit of grace and strength to continually adore the people that encompassed me.

Packing commenced, and goodbyes were said. At 7 pm, I caught a taxi for the airport. See, this was no wimpy taxi. This taxi was raised up pretty high and it supplied me the opportunity to look over the tall clay walls that I walked beside everyday. I saw little glimpses of delhi that I never was able to see at my short height of 5'7''. As I soared above the walls and as I was transported to the airport, I sighed a large sigh. I'm not ready to leave!! I was just getting accustomed to the idiosyncrasies of India and the wonderful people who I encountered on a daily basis. But as always in life, every good thing must come to an end at some point.

I'll miss hearing wild peacocks coo'ing through the green canopy of trees. I may even miss the constant honking. It's like a signal reminding me where I am. *HONK* you're in India! *honk honk* you're not in America! I don't know if its India that I specifically love and will incredibly miss. It's the details that make up where I am. I think its the fact I am in a foreign country- with little concept of how to get by, the feeling of loneliness and constantly trusting the people around me to keep me safe. It's the thrill- the adventure, the bliss, the shouting at a rickshaw. It's loving on little children who long for adoration,eating exotic meals with ingredients I can not pronounce, being captivated by every little thing that passes by. THAT is what I love and that's what I will long for until I can reach it again.

18 days

many hands held

29 miles walked

endless cold showers

13 (ish) students

too many memories to possibly ever count.

In this precious time, I have undoubtedly learned that exploring with your feet is nothing without exploring with your mind and heart.

Namaste, India. You have taught me a multitude of lessons, and have ultimately changed my heart in many ways. I will forever carry these invaluable memories with me where ever I may go.

Next stop: South America!! ( I'm thinking of hitting the 7 continents in the next 10 years, who's with me?!)


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page