top of page

The Pursuit of Living Tiny: Construction, Progress, and Teamwork


On June 7th, I "broke ground" and began constructing the foundation for the tiny home (Also known as Cleo) and soon realized the immense joy and gratification that building brings. On the first day, I worked on cutting rigid foam to cover every inch of the trailer, built the floor box (x2) and drilled more holes that I would have liked. We bolted the box to the trailer and called it a day. The following weekend, I had planned to finish up the floor box by adding the insulation and attaching the plywood subfloor to the floor box. Then problems arose. Which was met with much problem solving and discussion and a new level of gratitude for the people helping me complete this project.

The inaugural cut.

After two days of construction, I had a frustrating thought. It went something like "If I didn't have the help I have, I would have given up by now." It was humbling and centering. Sure, this isn't the first time I have taken on something that is difficult. But typically in the past, instead of asking for help and relying on other people, I give up and abandon whatever project or task I am striving for. Of course, building Cleo is on a whole other level of difficulty and commitment. So instead of backing down, I am choosing to ask for help more willingly and be excited that I get to learn alongside knowledgeable people who not only believe in my tiny dream, but also believe in me.

Dads helping with the floor box

Speaking of knowledgeable people... My boyfriend, Zack, has been an integral part of the tiny home build thus far and I am constantly astounded at his wisdom and selflessness. He works for an amazing company in Olympia who builds custom homes and executes amazing remodels. Having Zack help with the tiny home was not initially in my plans. Even though I used the tiny home to connect with him (a story for another day) I didn't intend on asking for his help, especially since we recently started dating this Spring. In fact, I was very reluctant to do so. As someone who desired for the tiny home to be a project that increased my sense of sustainability, strength, and empowerment, it was challenging to not only ask for help, but to ask for help from my BOY friend. A man. The superior sex in the construction / trade world. This required me to swallow my pride, have honest conversations, and simultaneously realize I would be silly to not take advantage of the opportunity to have Zack help me. That said, Zack hardly ever asked about Cleo, unless I brought it up. And when that happened, he enthusiastically joined in on conversation. He didn't assume I needed help. He didn't question my ability. When someone asked him if he would help me (because everyone assumes that he will) he would reply with "Only if I am asked". It was evident to me from the start, that he recognized that this project was a dream that meant more than just an average construction project.

On the first day of building he sent me a text that read: ". . .So excited for you to be picking up tools and beginning building today! Sending all the good vibes. I hope that the nerves are calmed and that you feel capable, smart, empowered, strong, and beautiful (because you are). You are crafting your dream. . ."

Ah, crafting my dream. I had not thought about it that way previously.

He has helped with construction, problem solving, and pep talks. He printed me correct size plans and listens when I ramble about how I think something should work even though I don't know what the hell I am talking about and I am clearly wrong in my thinking. He has shown me the basics of framing and drawn out many diagrams. An added plus: my dads love him and are stoked to have another set of hands on the job site. I am incredibly thankful to have him on my team.

I cannot reiterate enough how important it has been for my success to have a solid team surrounding me. A team that is not only comprised of people helping with the actual building, but friends and family who are supporting me by cheering me on, making me food (I'm looking at you, mama), and encouraging me to keep going. I consider myself so SOOO lucky to have the people I have. I would not be able to do this without y'all. So thank you. Truly, truly, truly.

After completing the floor box, which took a total of about 2 full days, framing began.

On the first day of framing, Zack and I worked on the layout and did some planning of how the framing would happen. We decided that we will build the 4 walls in 8 separate chunks. I am sure "chunks" isn't the right word, but whatever. We ran into some initial problems with how the wheel wells were situated and where I planned to have windows. The following day, which so happened to be the hottest day of the year, we completed about half the wall pieces. Which means we are "on schedule". Wooo! Before last week, I didn't know what a "header was". Didn't understand the purpose of a "trimmer", didn't know how to mark layout, and wasn't nearly as confident with a nail gun. Learning slowly, but surely.

Walls will be going up in a couple weeks! Excited to see Cleo take shape and to start looking like a real house!!

part of the lumber package being delivered form Tanglewild Lumber Inc!

My cousins visited last week and my 6'10" cousin made sure to test out the projected size of the guest loft.. HE FITS!! woohoo.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page